Tuesday, July 14, 2009

All news is good news

A true rarity-- all news is good news.

*AUDREY'S DOOR is available for pre-order, and a special celebrity author will be reviewing it for Amazon.com.

*I'm delighted to announce an upcoming collaboration with an author whose work I greatly admire. More on this to come!

*Soy cheese is really not that bad, especially if you don't comapre it to cheddar.

*The Shirley Jackson Awards were announced last Sunday, and winners are as follows:

Boston, MA (July 2009) -- In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, the Shirley Jackson Awards have been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

The Shirley Jackson Awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors. The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in the following categories: Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.

The Shirley Jackson Awards were presented on Sunday, July 12th, 2009, at Readercon 20, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Burlington, Massachusetts. Elizabeth Hand, Readercon 20 Guest of Honor, and author of Generation Loss, which won the 2007 Shirley Jackson Award for “Best Novel”, acted as host.

The winners for the 2008 Shirley Jackson Awards are:


The Shadow Year, Jeffrey Ford (William Morrow)


Disquiet, Julia Leigh, (Penguin/ Hamish Hamilton)


“Pride and Prometheus,” John Kessel (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, January 2008)


“The Pile,” Michael Bishop (Subterranean Online, Winter 2008)


The Diving Pool, Yoko Ogawa (Picador)


The New Uncanny, edited by Sarah Eyre and Ra Page (Comma Press)

Huge congratulations to all the winners!